Skip to Content

    Lyft Shared rides for drivers

    Shared rides let passengers going the same way share a Lyft ride. This is a big step toward our mission to improve people’s lives through the world’s best transportation.
    Shared rides give you the chance to earn more with longer rides and less time between rides.
    Skip to:

    Calculating Shared ride pay

    Shared ride pay for each route is calculated by:
    • Distance
    • Time
    • Pickup fee (base charge)
    If Shared rides are available in your region, check your Rate Card for details.
    You're always paid the base fare plus the time and distance of the entire route. This means your earnings aren’t affected if you only have one passenger for the ride.
    Here's a map of what a Shared ride can look like:

    Example Shared ride calculation

    Here's how earnings for the Shared rides above breaks down:
    • Base charge: $3
    • Time (20 min at $0.25/min): $5
    • Distance (6 miles at $2/mi): $12
    Your subtotal will be $20 ($3 + $5 +$12).
    Any tips from your passengers will be added to your earnings for the ride.

    Shared ride issues

    You should ask the passenger to cancel the ride if:
    • They need to change their destination
    • They're making more than one stop
    • They have more passengers than they requested on the app

    Destination changes

    Passengers can’t change the drop off location for a Shared ride. They’ll need to request another ride with the right drop-off locations.
    We recommend following the navigation in your app to avoid inefficient routes.

    Multiple stops

    Shared rides can’t be used for multiple stops. If passengers need to make multiple stops, they should request a standard Lyft.

    Too many passengers

    Passengers can only request a Shared ride for up to two people. They have to select how many people are with them so you don’t run out of seats you might need during the ride.
    Your app will ask you to confirm the number of people you're picking up at each Shared ride stop.
    Cancel the ride and select 'Too many passengers' if there are too many people. This won't affect your acceptance rate.
    You can ask the passenger to request another ride for the total number of people they have with them. If they're charged a cancellation fee, they can contact our support team for help.

    Shared ride passenger cancellations

    You'll get a cancellation fee if either of the following happens:
    • The first passenger cancels and meets the cancellation fee criteria
    • You mark the first passenger as a no-show
    If other passengers cancel, time and distance traveled are calculated into your earnings.
    For example, you may go a mile or so out of the way to get your second passenger and spend an extra few minutes. The total pay you receive will include this amount of distance and time whether they're picked up or not.
    Skip to:

    Still need help?