Get extra peace of mind when you ride with Lyft by sharing your location and ride details with up to five trusted contacts.
Turn the feature on or off at any time during a ride, or by tapping 'Safety tools' in your Settings tab.
Ride sharing begins when you first request a ride, and your ride details are shared with your contacts until you are dropped off.
This feature is currently only available in select regions. If it's not yet available in your area, you can still send your route info to friends and family at any time.
Types of location sharing
There are three settings to share your location:
- Share every ride
- Automatically shares every ride you take with pre-selected contacts
- Automatically shares rides taken between 9 PM and 6 AM
- You choose when to share your ride details while in a ride
There are two ways you can adjust your location sharing.
You can go to the main menu and tap ‘Safety preferences’ at any time to add or delete contacts and adjust your settings.
You can also adjust your settings while in a ride: simply tap ‘Share ride info’ and toggle sharing on. This will send your ride details to your trusted contacts.
Selecting trusted contacts
- Go to ‘Safety preferences’ from your main menu
- Tap ‘Trusted contacts’
- Add up to 5 contacts
- Set up your share settings
To remove a contact permanently, tap their name and swipe to the left to delete.
What trusted contacts see
When your location is shared, all selected contacts will receive a text message with a link to follow your location. You'll be alerted that someone is following your ride if they click the link.
The link opens a view of your ride in the trusted contact's default web browser.
Here they can see your:
- Pick-up and drop-off locations
- Approximate location while in the ride
- Your driver’s name and photo
- Your driver’s vehicle information and license plate number