Skip to Content

    Lyft Shared rides for drivers

    Lyft Shared rides are now available in certain cities.
    Shared rides let passengers heading in the same direction share a ride. This ride type gives you the chance to earn more with longer rides and less time between rides.
    In most regions, Shared ride requests can now have up to 2 passengers per pickup. If one of your pickups has 2 passengers, the other pickup will have only 1.
    We’ll never put more than 3 passengers in your car at one time.
    Currently, you can decline Shared ride requests (or let them lapse) without it affecting you negatively. It won’t affect your acceptance rate, driver rating, or any Ride Streaks.
    If you’d prefer, you can also opt out of giving Shared rides.
    Skip to:

    Giving a Shared ride

    When a Shared ride is added to your queue, you’ll see ‘Shared’ on the notification, along with the time and distance. You’ll also see the number of pickups on the ride, and how many passengers are at each pickup.
    We’ll never put more than 3 passengers in your car at one time.
    If there are more passengers at a pickup than expected, cancel the ride and tap ‘Too many passengers.’ This won’t affect your acceptance rate, driver rating, or any Ride Streaks.

    While giving a ride

    Once you arrive at the pick up location:
    1. Tap ‘Arrive.’
    2. The passenger will have two minutes to show up. If the passenger doesn’t show up after two minutes, you can tap ‘Confirm no-show.’
    3. When the passenger arrives, drag the ‘Slide to pick up’ arrow to the right to start the ride.
    If a co-rider is being added to the trip, you’ll hear an audio notification. Additional Shared ride pickups can’t be declined.
    If you’re only matched with one passenger, you’ll continue the route and treat it like a Standard Lyft ride. Shared and Standard Lyft rides have the same rates.

    Declining Shared ride requests

    We want you to feel safe and comfortable during all of your rides. If you don’t feel comfortable giving a Shared ride, you can decline the request.
    Currently, you can decline Shared ride requests (or let them lapse) without it affecting you negatively. It won’t affect your acceptance rate, driver rating, or any Ride Streaks.
    If you’d prefer, you can also opt out of giving Shared rides.

    Shared ride issues

    Issues with passengers

    We ask that passengers are considerate toward you and their co-riders. This includes keeping calls quiet and using headphones.
    If you have any safety concerns or issues with a passenger, you can let us know when you rate them.
    Passengers can rate their co-riders without affecting your driver rating.
    If you don’t feel safe, or if a passenger isn’t following our Health Safety Commitment (depending on the region), you can cancel the ride.

    Too many passengers

    In most regions, Shared ride requests can now have up to 2 passengers per pickup. If one of your pickups has 2 passengers, the other pickup will have only 1.
    We’ll never put more than 3 passengers in your car at one time.
    If there are more passengers at a pickup than expected, cancel the ride and tap ‘Too many passengers.’ This won’t affect your acceptance rate, driver rating, or any Ride Streaks.

    Destination changes

    Passengers can’t change the drop-off location for a Shared ride. They’ll need to request another ride with the right drop-off locations.
    We recommend following the navigation in your app to avoid inefficient routes.

    Multiple stops

    Shared rides can’t be used for multiple stops. If passengers need to make multiple stops, they should request a standard Lyft.

    Lost and found

    It’s hard to tell who an item belongs to after a Shared ride. Currently, you can’t contact a specific passenger from a Shared ride.
    If you have a lost item from a Shared ride, we suggest holding onto it until you hear from the passenger or Lyft support.
    If you don't hear from the passenger or receive an email from Lyft within a week of the ride, we recommend the following options:
    • Take the item to a police station if it contains personal info (such as a wallet, ID/passport, computer, or phone).
    • Dispose of the item if it doesn't contain any personal info.

    Opting in or out of Shared rides

    You can turn Shared rides on and off like any other ride type.
    To opt in or out of Shared rides:
    1. Open the main menu and tap ‘Vehicles and Devices’.
    2. Choose the vehicle you wish to update.
    3. Tap ‘See Details’.
    4. Tap ‘All ride types except Shared’ under the ‘Available ride types’ section.
    5. To turn Shared rides back on, select ‘All Ride types’ again.
    You’ll need to opt out for each vehicle on your account separately.

    Shared ride cancellations

    Our standard requirements for cancel and no-show fees apply to Shared rides.

    Shared ride cancellations

    If one of your Shared ride pickups is cancelled, here’s how your earnings are calculated:
    • If the first pickup is cancelled, you’ll be eligible for a cancel fee (as long as it meets our cancel or no-show fee requirements). You’ll receive whichever is greater: the earnings based on the time and distance you drove, or the minimum cancel fee. Your earnings will be calculated using your city’s rate card.
    • If the second or third pickup is cancelled for any reason, your earnings for the entire Shared ride will be calculated using your city’s rate card. Only the first pickup in a Shared ride is eligible for a cancel fee.

    Too many Shared ride passengers

    In most regions, Shared ride requests can now have up to 2 passengers per pickup. If one of your pickups has 2 passengers, the other pickup will have only 1.
    We’ll never put more than 3 passengers in your car at one time.
    If there are more passengers at a pickup than expected, cancel the ride and tap ‘Too many passengers.’ This won’t affect your acceptance rate, driver rating, or any Ride Streaks.
    See also:

    Still need help?