As consideration for your time and effort, drivers receive cancellation and no-show fees.
Beginning June 15th, we’re rolling out a new cancel fee structure. You’ll receive a notification in the app when the new feature is available for you.
You’ll earn based on the time and distance you drove or the minimum cancel fee — whichever is greater.
You can always see your per-minute and per-mile rates for each ride in your rate card.
Cancellations by passengers
If a rider cancels when you've already started driving, you can earn a cancellation fee if:
The passenger cancellation window has passed after you've accepted the ride and
You're making progress to the passenger's pick-up location, and you're on track to arrive by the estimated arrival time
For Shared ride cancellations, you’re only eligible to receive a cancellation fee if your first passenger cancels. If additional passengers cancel, you'll still be paid for the time and distance of your Shared route, but Lyft will retain any additional cancellation charges. Please note Lyft reserves the right to withhold, deduct, or reduce the amount of any cancellation fee payments at our discretion, including if fees are determined or believed to result from error, fraud, or a violation of the Lyft Terms of Service.
You'll receive a no-show fee when you follow these steps:
Tap to arrive at the pickup location
Wait for the timer to count down to 0:00
Attempt to contact the passenger, or the passenger contacts you
Cancel the ride by tapping 'Passenger is no-show' and then tap 'Confirm no-show'
If you arrive at the pick-up location 5 minutes or more after the estimated arrival time, you will not receive a no-show fee.
Note: You must be close to the passenger's pickup location when you cancel the ride to be eligible for a no-show fee.
Cancellations are a bad experience for all parties, so we recommend using discretion when cancelling rides.
Drivers can cancel a ride by tapping the arrow in the top right corner of the app during a ride and selecting either 'Cancel' or 'No-show.'
Of course, we know there are times when it's perfectly reasonable for you to cancel a ride you've already accepted, such as:
When cancelling rides, remember that Lyft’s community is diverse, representing different generations, ethnicities, genders, sexual orientations, and religions. We encourage open-mindedness and mutual respect. Read more about our Anti-Discrimination Policies.
If you cancelled a ride for safety reasons or couldn’t contact a passenger (for example, if they had an incorrect or disconnected phone number), tap 'Contact Support' below to let us know.
Cancellations and acceptance rate
When a passenger cancels or is marked no-show, your acceptance rate won’t be affected.
If a passenger contacts you saying they don’t need a ride but they’ve already requested it, ask them to cancel the ride on their end.
If you've arrived at a passenger's pickup location and they don't show up after you've tapped to arrive, try to call them and wait for the timer to count down to 0:00.
After the timer runs out, you'll be able to mark the passenger as a no-show. Then you can choose 'Charge passenger' or 'Do not charge passenger.' Regardless of which option you choose, your acceptance rate isn't affected.
Need help? Select 'Contact Support' below to get in touch with our Support team.