This page provides information about when you’ll be charged by Lyft, and how Lyft charges are calculated.
Select your situation below for details:
If you believe you were overcharged or charged in error after reviewing the following information, select 'Contact Support' below so our Support team can assist you.
Here are some common reasons riders believe they were overcharged for a ride. Check to see if any of these situations may have applied to your ride:
Higher price than expected
Riders may see higher ride costs when there’s more demand for rides. If your upfront price was higher than expected, it might have been busier than usual.
Drivers are encouraged to use GPS to navigate to your destination, but are allowed to take alternate routes to avoid construction, blocked roads, or heavy traffic when necessary. If you believe a more efficient route was available, let us know and we’ll review your ride.
When you create a Lyft account, update your payment method, or request a ride, you may see a pending transaction in addition to your ride charge on your payment method. This isn't an extra charge, but a temporary authorization we use to verify your payment method. The authorization will never actually process but may show as "pending" on your bank statement.
An authorization appears on your card or bank statement as a pending transaction. Your card issuer will typically remove it within 5-7 business days.
One charge for multiple rides
If you have ‘Billing frequency’ enabled, you’ll see one charge for all rides taken in a day. This simplifies your charges billing statement while giving you the same cost breakdown for each ride.
This includes all rides taken in your personal profile (including bikes and scooters) using the following payment methods:
You can verify all charges by going to the ‘Payment’ tab in your Lyft app. You’ll see individual ride receipts and an itemized ride recap for all rides.
If you’d like to turn off this feature, you can do so by going to the app menu and tapping the ‘Payment’ tab.
The final ride fare you see in the app includes applicable toll fees, which are priced based on the local electronic toll collection system. Here’s a list of US tolls charged to the rider. Please note that Lyft reserves the right to apply tolls to rider fares that may not be identified on this list.
Added on a per-ride basis, the Service Fee helps support the Lyft Platform and related services, including a broad spectrum of operating costs and safety measures like insurance and background checks.
If you or a member of your group causes physical or cosmetic damage to the interior or exterior of your driver's car, we'll assess a damage fee and charge your default payment method.
Paid for a ride I didn’t take
Here are a few reasons you might see a charge from Lyft. Check to see if any of these situations may apply to you:
You may see a pending transaction on your bank statement. This can happen when you request a ride or update your payment information.
This isn't a charge – it’s a temporary authorization we use to verify your payment method. It may take 5 - 7 business days for your bank to remove the temporary authorization from your bank statement.
If a driver started a ride without you, or you believe a different rider took your Lyft ride, let us know by selecting 'Contact Support' below and we'll investigate.
Family member or friend's ride
If you’ve ever logged in to your account on a friend or family member’s phone, they may still be logged in and could request rides using your account.
We recommend checking with family and friends before contacting us. Once you notify us of suspicious activity, we may need to lock your account for some time while we investigate for you.
To compensate your driver for their time and gas, we'll apply a cancellation fee in specific situations.
Credit or discount didn’t apply
Any valid ride discounts or Lyft credits on your account are automatically applied to eligible rides. See the ‘Rewards’ tab of your Lyft app to check for limitations and expiration dates.