To get the most out of using the Lyft app, we request access to your location data, contacts and camera.
You can change your security preferences at any time in your phone’s settings.
Lyft uses your phone’s location services to give you a great ride experience. We only access your location if the Lyft app is running on your phone. If you close the app, we won't access that info.
Sharing your location data with us turns background location sharing on. Background location sharing means you're sharing your location with us even when the app isn't visible on your screen.
You can control background location sharing in your Lyft app settings.
Open your settings in the Lyft app main menu
Turn 'Background location sharing' on or off
If you turn background location sharing off, Lyft will only use your location when you have the app open on your device. If you open a different app, we'll stop using your location until you open Lyft again.
If you turn on background location sharing, you have two options for how you share that info:
Independent of choices you make using this setting, Lyft still collects trip location information from your driver for all rides.
If you want to upload a profile picture, we’ll ask for access to your camera or photos.
You can invite your friends to take their first Lyft ride, or send your ride details to friends.
Giving us access to your contacts makes it easier to use the Lyft app, but you don't have to. If you don’t want to give us access to your contacts, you can share an invite instead.