Skip to Content

    Upfront pay

    Upfront pay is a new driver experience, now available in most regions. With upfront pay, you’ll see a ride’s route and total earnings before you choose to accept the ride.
    With upfront pay, your earnings are based on a number of factors, which can include:
    • Estimated time and distance to complete the ride.
    • Travel to the pickup point.
    • Volume of ride requests in the area.
    Since you see what you’ll earn up front, your earnings are no longer based on your rate card after the ride is complete.
    Upfront pay is available for the following ride types:
    • Standard Lyft rides
    • Lyft Shared rides (where available)
    • Lyft Lux and Lux Black
    • Lyft XL and Lux Black XL
    Skip to:

    How it works

    When you get a ride request, you’ll see all the details up front, including:
    • The amount you’ll earn.
    • The pickup and drop-off locations.
    • The estimated time and distance to complete the ride.
    • A map view of the full ride.
    If you accept the ride, you’ll earn the amount shown unless there’s a significant change to the ride.
    If a rider cancels before you get to the pickup point, the standard cancel policy applies.
    Once the ride is complete, you’ll receive the earnings you saw up front. You’ll also receive any tips, tolls, and multi-ride bonuses you earned.
    You can find a breakdown of each ride’s earnings in your Dashboard.
    To see your earnings for a specific ride:
    1. Open the main menu, then tap 'Account.'
    2. Tap 'Dashboard,’ then tap ‘Driving history.’
    3. Select the ride you want to review.

    Trip changes

    With upfront pay, you'll always receive the earnings you were shown up front, unless there is a significant change to the ride. In that case, your earnings will be adjusted after the ride is complete.
    These adjustments are made automatically once the ride ends, so you won't have to notify us if the trip changes.
    After the ride is complete, you can view your ride details in the Dashboard. Your earnings adjustment, if applicable, will be shown in the ride receipt.
    To view your ride details:
    1. Open the main menu, then tap 'Account.'
    2. Tap 'Dashboard,’ then tap ‘Driving history.’
    3. Select the ride you want to review.
    See also:

    Still need help?