115012923147 en-us

Lyft Premier™ & Lyft Lux rides for drivers

Premier ™, Lyft Lux, and Lyft Lux SUV are available in more than 80 cities throughout the U.S. We're continuing to expand regions for these rides types, so check the Cities page to see what's available in your region.

Skip to:

About Premier, Lux, and Lux SUV

Lyft has a few ride types that let drivers with qualifying high-end vehicles the chance to earn more:

  • Lyft Premier: High-end, four seats, the perfect way to add a little luxury and arrive in style
  • Lyft Lux: Premium black car service limited to only the most luxurious makes and models
  • Lyft Lux SUV: Premium black SUV service with space for parties up to six passengers

Back to top

How to qualify

The difference between Premier and Lux is which drivers and vehicles are eligible.

Both Premier and Lux rides require drivers to maintain a 4.7 or higher rating. New drivers must give original Lyft or Lyft Line rides until they achieve a 4.7 rating or higher.

The biggest difference between Premier and Lux/Lux SUV is which cars are eligible in each ride type.

To qualify for Lyft Premier:

Lyft Premier is no longer available in New York City. Drivers in New York City whose vehicles were Premier-approved before May 25, 2017, can still give Lux rides.

To qualify for Lux or Lux SUV:

  • Drive in a Lyft city where Lux or Lux SUV is available
  • Drive an approved Lux or Lux SUV vehicle (see the list of eligible vehicles)
  • You’ll qualify to receive both Lux and Lux SUV requests if you have a Lux-eligible vehicle that comfortably seats 6 or more passengers

How to opt in to get Premier, Lux, and Lux SUV ride requests

Whether you're a current or new driver, here's how to receive luxury rides.

Current drivers:

  1. Log in to your Driver Dashboard
  2. If you have a qualifying vehicle, select it as your active vehicle
  3. Confirm your seat type
  4. If your vehicle meets the requirements, you’re automatically opted in to receive Premier, Lux, or Lux SUV requests

New drivers:

  1. Maintain a 4.7 rating
  2. If your vehicle meets the requirements, you’re automatically opted in to receive Premier, Lux, or Lux SUV requests

Can I receive only Premier, Lux, or Lux SUV ride requests? Yes, you can change your ride request type in the app. Here’s how:

  1. Open the app, then tap your profile photo in the top left corner
  2. Tap ‘Driver Dashboard’
  3. Tap the ‘Vehicles’ tab
  4. Tap the arrow on 'Ride preferences'
  5. Select the ride types you want. Note that you'll only receive ride requests that you're eligible for and that are available in your region.
    • Accept all eligible ride types: all ride types your vehicle qualifies for
    • Accept Premium rides only: Plus, Premier, Lux, and Lux SUV rides
    • Accept Lux Rides only: Lux and Lux SUV rides

Back to top

Here's what this looks like in the app:




Heads up: Using Premier-, Lux-, or Lux SUV-only may reduce the number of requests you receive.

Drivers who opted to receive Premier or Lux requests only may still see standard Lyft requests where they can earn extra money. Skipping these requests won't affect your acceptance rate.

Back to top

See also:

Need something else?

Contact Support