When you create a Lyft account, update your payment method, or request a ride, you may see a pending transaction on your payment method. This isn't an extra charge, but a temporary authorization we use to verify your payment method.
- I was charged but didn't take a ride. What is this extra charge?
- When is an authorization released?
- An authorization caused an overdraft. What should I do next?
- How do I see my actual charges?
This is an authorization, not a charge. Like other companies, Lyft uses temporary authorizations to confirm your payment method. The authorization will never actually process but may show as "pending" on your bank statement.
Authorization amounts will be around the price of the Lyft ride price in your region (depending on the ride mode you've selected).
If you see a pending amount, your card issuer will remove it typically within 5-7 business days, and your card won't actually be charged.
Once you’ve paid for your ride and your card is successfully charged, Lyft immediately releases the authorization. Contact your bank for more info about its authorization policies and timelines.
For questions about overdraft fees, contact your bank directly.
Use the in-app ride history tab to see your charges.