Skip to Content

    Temporary authorizations

    A temporary authorization is not a charge. This charge is temporary and will appear as 'pending' in your payment method's account. We use it to make sure your payment method works and will never charge you if we can't match you with a driver.
    You may see a pending transaction on your payment method when:
    • You create a Lyft account
    • You request a ride
    • You update your payment method
    The authorization amount depends on the Lyft ride price in your region and the ride mode you've selected.
    If you have Billing frequency enabled, you will see multiple temporary authorizations on your payment method’s account. Once we’ve combined all charges you’ll see one final charge for all rides taken in a day. You can change this feature in the ‘Payment’ section of the app.
    Skip to:
    When is an authorization released?
    Your bank will usually remove the pending amount within 5-7 business days.
    Once your payment method is successfully charged, Lyft immediately releases the authorization. Contact your bank for more information on its authorization policies and timelines.
    What should I do when a temporary authorization causes an overdraft?
    Contact your bank for overdraft questions.
    How do I see my actual charges?
    Use the app's 'Ride history' tab in the Lyft app menu to see your charges.
    See also:

    Still need help?