Lyft Premier™ & Lyft Lux Rides for Drivers

Heads up: Lyft Lux and Lyft Lux SUV are coming soon to drivers in Chicago, Los Angeles, New York City, San Francisco, and San Jose. Sit tight and we’ll let you know when this new luxury option is available.

Lyft has a few ride types that allow drivers with qualifying high-end vehicles the chance to earn more:

  • Lyft Premier™: High-end, four seats, the perfect way to add a little luxury and arrive in style
  • Lyft Lux: Premium black car service limited to only the most luxurious makes and models*
  • Lyft Lux SUV: Premium black SUV service with spaciousness for parties of up to six*

What’s the difference between Premier and Lux? How do I qualify for these ride types? Both Premier and Lux rides require drivers to maintain a 4.7 or higher rating. The biggest difference between Premier and Lux/Lux SUV is which cars are eligible in each ride type.

To qualify for Lyft Premier:

To qualify for Lux or Lux SUV:

  • Drive in a Lyft city where Lux or Lux SUV is available*
  • Drive an approved Lux or Lux SUV vehicle

How do I opt in to receive Premier or Lux/Lux SUV rides?

Current Lyft drivers:

  1. Log in to your Driver Dashboard
  2. If you have a qualifying vehicle, select it as your active vehicle
  3. Confirm your seat type
  4. If your vehicle meets the requirements, you’re automatically opted in to receive Premier, Lux, or Lux SUV requests

New Lyft drivers:

  1. Maintain a 4.7 rating
  2. If your vehicle meets the requirements, you’re automatically opted in to receive Premier, Lux, or Lux SUV requests

Can I receive only Premier, Lux, or Lux SUV ride requests? Yes, you can change your ride request type in the app. Here’s how:

  1. Tap your profile pic in the top left-hand corner
  2. Tap ‘Driver Dashboard’ and log in
  3. Tap the ‘Vehicles & Docs’ tab
  4. Tap the ‘V’ next to your car profile
  5. Select the ride type(s) you want to receive. Selecting 'Premium rides only' enables Lux,
    Lux SUV, and Premier rides (depending on ride type availability and eligibility).

Heads up: Using Premier-, Lux-, or Lux SUV-only may reduce the number of ride requests you receive. Ride preference steps will change once we've launched Lux and Lux SUV, but we'll keep you updated. We're in the process of adding more ride types (like 'Lux-' and 'Lux-SUV-only'), so bear with us!

What is Lyft's commission for these ride types? To see how we calculate commission for different ride types, read Lyft’s Commission Structure. You can also see your full commission schedule on the 'Payments' tab of your Driver Dashboard.

Need something else?

Contact Support