Skip to Content

    Sharing your ride location with friends and family

    Your safety is always our top priority. When you ride with Lyft, you can share your ride details and location with friends and family.
    When you share your ride details with someone, they'll get a link that shows them the following:
    • Your pick-up and drop-off locations
    • The approximate GPS location of your ride
    • Your driver's name and photo
    • Your driver's vehicle info and license plate number
    Skip to:

    Share your location during a ride

    To share your location while you're in a ride:
    1. Tap 'Safety tools' at the bottom of the screen
    2. Tap 'Share ride details'
    If you're ever uncomfortable during a ride, we have safety tools to help. Learn more about getting emergency assistance during a ride.

    Set up automatic location sharing

    To add contacts and adjust your share settings:
    1. Open the app menu
    2. Tap 'Settings'
    3. Tap 'Safety tools'
    Tap 'Add' near the top of the screen to add contacts to share your ride details with.
    These people will get a text message with a link whenever your ride details are shared. You'll get a notification when someone clicks the link to follow your ride.
    You can add up to five contacts in this section. Swipe left on a name and tap 'Delete' to remove someone.
    There are three options for automatic sharing:
    Every ride
    Automatically shares all your rides.
    Only rides at night (9 PM-6 AM)
    Only shares rides you take between 9 PM and 6 AM.
    Never share automatically
    You can choose to share your ride details by tapping 'Safety tools' at the bottom of the screen during a ride.
    See also:

    Still need help?