As consideration for your time and effort, drivers receive cancellation and no-show fees. Fees are based on your region and ride type, so refer to your ride's rate card to see specific amounts.
- Cancellations by passengers
- Passenger no-shows
- Shared ride fee policies
- Cancellations by drivers
- Cancellations and acceptance rate
If a passenger cancels when you've already started driving, you can earn a cancellation fee if:
- The passenger cancellation window has passed after you've accepted the ride and
- You're making progress to the passenger's pick-up location, and you're on track to arrive by the estimated arrival time
Please note Lyft reserves the right to withhold, deduct, or reduce the amount of any cancellation fee payments at our discretion, including if fees are determined or believed to result from error, fraud, or a violation of the Lyft Terms of Service.
You'll receive a no-show fee when you follow these steps:
- Tap to arrive at the pickup location
- Wait for the timer to count down to 0:00 without moving from the pickup location
- Contact the passenger or respond to the passenger contacting you
- Cancel the ride by tapping 'Passenger is no-show' and then tap 'Confirm no-show'
If you arrive at the pick-up location 5 minutes or more after the estimated arrival time, you will not receive a no-show fee.
Note: You must be close to the passenger's pickup location when you cancel the ride to be eligible for a no-show fee.
For the first party in your Shared ride, standard cancel and no-show requirements apply. That means if a passenger cancels or doesn't show before you have other passengers, you'll be paid the fee as usual.
Once you have a passenger in your ride, you won't receive additional cancel or no-show fees because you're already earning based on the time and distance you traveled to pick up that passenger.
After arriving at a Shared ride pickup location, the app will prompt you to confirm the number of passengers you're picking up.
If the party size is the same as requested, tap 'Confirm.' If a passenger shows up with more people in their party than originally requested, tap 'Other' to skip the pickup. Skipping pickups like this won't affect your acceptance rate or driver rating.
Cancellations are a bad experience for all parties, so we recommend using discretion when cancelling rides.
Drivers can cancel a ride by tapping the arrow in the top right corner of the app during a ride and selecting either 'Cancel' or 'No-show.'
Of course, we know there are times when it's perfectly reasonable for you to cancel a ride you've already accepted, such as:
- You or a loved one has an emergency
- Passenger verbally or physically threatens your safety (if this happens, go to Safety info for drivers and tap 'Call Me')
- You've looked for and tried contacting a passenger but still don't see them (Follow the Passenger no-shows steps)
When cancelling rides, remember that Lyft's community is diverse, representing different generations, ethnicities, genders, sexual orientations, and religions. We encourage open-mindedness and mutual respect. Read more about our Anti-Discrimination Policies.
If you cancelled a ride for safety reasons or couldn't contact a passenger (for example, if they had an incorrect or disconnected phone number), tap 'Contact Support' below to let us know.
Include the following:
- Requesting passenger's name
- Time and date of ride
- Pickup location
When a passenger cancels or is marked no-show, your acceptance rate won't be affected.
If a passenger contacts you saying they don't need a ride after you've hit accept, ask them to cancel the ride on their end.
If you've arrived at a passenger's pickup location and they don't show up after you've tapped to arrive, follow the Passenger no-shows policy above and your acceptance rate will not be affected.