Skip to Content

Priority Mode

Note: Priority Mode is only available for Platinum and Elite drivers in the following regions:
  • Chicago
  • Denver
  • New Orleans
  • Philadelphia
  • Portland
  • San Antonio
  • Austin
  • Minneapolis-St. Paul
  • Miami
  • Salt Lake City
  • Cincinnati
  • Buffalo
  • Richmond
  • Pittsburgh
  • Daytona Beach
  • St. Louis
  • Milwaukee
  • Columbus
  • Nassau County
  • Silicon Valley
  • Providence
  • Detroit
  • Tampa Bay
  • Baltimore
  • New Jersey
  • Orlando
  • Houston
  • Boston
  • Washington, D.C.
  • San Francisco
When Priority Mode is on, you’ll get more rides so you can stay busy when it’s slow. With Priority Mode, you’ll spend  less time waiting between ride requests.
You'll receive a set number of Priority Mode hours each week. You can check the number of hours you have available on the Priority Mode details page.
The number of Priority Mode hours available can change from week to week, depending on how busy it is in your area.
Skip to:
Using Priority Mode
Turn Priority Mode on or off by tapping ‘Priority Mode’ at the bottom of the home screen.
Priority Mode works best when it's less busy. For best results, leave Priority Mode on instead of switching it on and off. You will get priority access to new requests as they become available.
Priority Mode is only available for standard rides. You can still get ride requests for other ride types, but you won’t be prioritized for these requests.
If Priority Mode isn’t available
We limit how many drivers can use Priority Mode at the same time so that these drivers get more ride requests. If Priority Mode is unavailable right now, but you still have hours left, check back later. You can check which day your Priority Mode hours reset in the Driver app.
Priority Mode isn’t available at airports. If you enter the airport queue, Priority Mode will turn off.
The goal of Priority Mode is to help you stay busy. With location filters turned on, there are fewer rides you can be matched with, which can cause more downtime.
Note: Priority Mode is only available when you’re giving a standard ride. You can still receive ride requests without Priority Mode for other ride types, but you won’t be prioritized for these requests.
Earning in Priority Mode
Most drivers earn 15% more in Priority Mode. When you use Priority Mode, you’ll make slightly less per ride, but you’ll have more opportunities to earn.
When you're in Priority Mode you'll be able to see the amount you'll earn for a ride before you accept it.
In regions that use a rate card, your rate card will be lower in Priority Mode. However, when you use Priority Mode, you’ll have more opportunities to earn overall. You can check Priority Mode rates in the Driver app at any time.
Viewing your Priority Mode earnings
When you drive 1 hour or more in Priority Mode per day, you’ll be able to see how much more you earned in Priority Mode compared to nearby drivers during a similar timeframe who didn’t use Priority Mode.
To find this information:
  1. Go to your Driver app.
  2. Open your Earnings tab.
  3. You can see your total earnings under your Priority Mode summary.
In the rare case you don’t earn more, your earnings will be adjusted to match what you would have earned for yesterday’s rides if you weren’t in Priority Mode. You’ll be eligible for an adjustment any day that you've driven at least 1 hour in Priority Mode.

Still need help?