Skip to Content

    Cancel and no-show policy for riders

    If you no longer need your scheduled or requested ride, feel free to cancel it. You may be charged a cancellation fee in certain conditions.
    To cancel a ride in the Lyft app:
    1. Tap ‘Edit ride’ in the bottom left corner of the ride screen
    2. Tap ‘Cancel ride’
    Note: You can cancel a ride within the first five minutes after pickup.
    Skip to:

    Health Safety cancellations

    The CDC recently updated its guidance for transportation, and masks are now optional in all rides.
    Drivers and riders aren’t required to wear a mask during rides, but you can keep wearing one if it makes you more comfortable.
    Although you won’t be able to report a rider or driver for health safety reasons, you can still report a ride if you feel unsafe.

    'Pending' charge for cancelled ride

    If we weren’t able to match you with a driver, or you cancelled a ride, you may see a pending transaction on your account for the ride’s original upfront price.
    We’ll never charge you this amount.
    Once your bank provider processes the transaction, the temporary authorization will either disappear completely or appear as a refund within 5-7 business days.

    Cancel fee

    You may be charged a cancel fee if you cancel:
    • More than 30 seconds after the driver accepts your ride.
    • When the driver should arrive within 5 minutes of the original estimated arrival time.
    • 3 or more rides in a 15-minute timeframe.
    • A Lyft Shared ride after the driver accepts your ride request.
    These fees go towards compensating your driver for their time and gas, and may vary based on how busy it is.
    Note: You can cancel a ride within the first 5 minutes after pickup if someone else took your ride or if there’s another critical issue.
    If you request a ride for someone else, you’ll be charged any cancel or no-show fees for that ride.
    For Lyft Scheduled rides, we may charge a cancel fee if:
    • You cancel the ride after a driver has been matched.
    • The driver is on their way to pick you up.
    • The driver is scheduled to arrive within the designated pickup window.
    For Lyft Shared rides, we may charge a cancel fee after a driver accepts the request. Learn more about Lyft Shared rides here.
    For Lyft Scheduled rides, we may charge a cancel fee if:
    • You cancel the ride after a driver has been matched.
    • The driver is on their way to pick you up.
    • The driver is scheduled to arrive within the designated pickup window.

    No-Show Fee

    You may be charged a no-show fee if your driver:
    1. Arrived to pick you up.
    2. Waited the allotted time or longer.
    3. Attempted to contact you, or you contacted your driver.
    These fees go towards compensating your driver for their time and gas, and may vary based on how busy it is.
    For Lyft Shared rides, a No-Show Fee may apply if you aren't at the pickup location within one minute of your driver’s arrival. Learn more about Lyft Shared rides here.

    Dispute a fee

    If you think you were wrongly charged a cancel or no-show fee, you can dispute the charge in the app.
    To dispute a charge:
    1. Open the Lyft app’s main menu.
    2. Tap the ‘Ride history.’
    3. Tap the ride that you need help with.
    4. Tap ‘Get help’ at the bottom of the screen.
    Related articles:

    Still need help?