214217177

Cancellation policy for passengers

If you no longer need a ride, feel free to cancel it. To cancel a ride, tap 'Cancel Ride' in the bottom left corner of the app and confirm.

To compensate your driver for their time and gas, we'll apply a cancellation fee or penalty for specific rides. See your region's specific cancel penalty on the Cities page.

Skip to:

Cancel fees

You're charged a fee for canceling a ride when either of these occur:

  • 5 minutes or more pass since you requested the ride
  • Your driver is on time to arrive within 5 minutes of the original estimated arrival time

For Lyft Line rides, we may charge a cancellation fee should you cancel any time after a driver accepts your ride request.

If you cancel a scheduled ride within 30 minutes of the pickup, we'll charge a $10 cancellation fee.

Back to top


No-show fee

No-show fees are charged under these circumstances:

  1. Your driver arrived to pick you up
  2. Your driver waited 5 minutes or more
  3. Your driver tried to contact you

For Lyft Line rides, we may charge you a no-show fee if you aren't at the pickup location within 1 minute of your driver’s arrival.

Back to top


How to dispute a fee

If you think you were wrongly charged a cancellation fee, we’d be happy to help. Simply use the app's 'Ride History' tab.

  1. Open the app, then tap your photo in the top left corner
  2. Tap ‘Ride history’
  3. Select the ride with the fee
  4. Scroll down, then tap 'Get help.' If you're an Android user, tap 'Request Review.'
  5. Tell us more about your problem, then follow any instructions. If needed, we'll ask for a brief description of what happened and review the ride.

Back to top

See also:

Need something else?

Contact Support