Skip to Content

    Cancellation policy for passengers

    If you no longer need your scheduled or requested ride, feel free to cancel it. You may be charged a cancellation fee in certain conditions.
    To cancel a ride in the Lyft app:
    1. Tap ‘Edit ride’ in the bottom left corner of the ride screen
    2. Tap ‘Cancel ride’
    Note: You can cancel a ride within the first five minutes after pickup.
    Skip to:

    Health Safety cancellations

    The CDC recently updated its guidance for transportation, and masks are now optional in all rides.
    Drivers and riders aren’t required to wear a mask during rides, but you can keep wearing one if it makes you more comfortable.
    Although you won’t be able to report a rider or driver for health safety reasons, you can still report a ride if you feel unsafe.

    Cancel fee

    You're subject to a cancel fee if one of the following occurs:
    • The cancellation window has passed after a driver accepts your ride request
    • Your driver is on time to arrive within 5 minutes of the original estimated arrival time
    These fees go towards compensating your driver for their time and gas, and may vary based on how busy it is. The cancel fee is listed on your ride receipt for the canceled ride.
    You'll be charged a cancel fee if you cancel three or more rides (of any type) in a 15-minute timeframe. This applies even if you’re canceling those rides within their individual cancellation windows.
    For Lyft Shared rides, we may charge a cancel fee after a driver accepts the request. Learn more about Lyft Shared rides here.
    For Lyft Scheduled rides, we may charge a cancel fee if:
    • You cancel the ride after a driver has been matched.
    • The driver is on their way to pick you up.
    • The driver is scheduled to arrive within the designated pickup window.

    No-Show Fee

    You're subject to a No-Show Fee if the following occurs:
    1. Your driver arrived to pick you up
    2. Your driver waited the allotted time or longer
    3. Your driver attempted to contact you, or you contacted your driver
    These fees go towards compensating your driver for their time and gas, and may vary based on how busy it is. The No-Show Fee is listed on your ride receipt for the ride in question.
    For Lyft Shared rides, a No-Show Fee may apply if you aren't at the pickup location within one minute of your driver’s arrival. Learn more about Lyft Shared rides here.

    How to review a fee

    If you think you were wrongly charged a Cancellation Fee or No-Show Fee, we’re happy to help.
    Disputing the charge in your app will automatically review it. Here’s how:
    1. Tap the ‘Ride history’ tab from the Lyft app menu
    2. Tap the ride that you need help with
    3. Tap ‘Get help’ at the bottom of the screen
    Related articles:

    Still need help?